Best Christmas Morning Ever

Christmas was a very simple, yet lovely day. Both of my boys slept in which gave me a chance to make cinnamon rolls….yummm! I also had a moment of peace and quiet in front of our tree. That was delightful because I learned this year there is no peace and quiet during the holidays when you have a one year old. This was probably the only year of Benjamin’s life that we will have to wake him up on Christmas morning. He slept ’til 10. He was so tired from staying up until 8:30 for Christmas Eve Service (8:30, I know, we are party animals). I’m sure in the future we will be the ones getting woken up.

We started the morning with those little party favors with a tiny toy and tissue paper crowns. Benjamin got paper dominos and was satisfied, we kept trying to show him his other gifts, but he kept going back to the dominos.

IMG_0577

Since there is a second child on the way, and we are well aware that we will not have any money with two kids in diapers and me only working 2/3 of the school year next year. So we would give each other our  “one day” splurge gifts, before it was too late. Kollin finally got his flat screen TV that he has been talking about getting since we got married. And I got a totally awesome, rad camera…the Nikon DX 3200. Let’s just say my pictures are going to start looking a lot better.

After presents we had breakfast, cinnamon rolls made from scratch (none of that Pillsbury nonsense), sausage and eggs. After Benjamin went down for his nap I made pies for Christmas dinner and Kollin played with his new toy, with the traditional A Christmas Story playing in the background.

IMG_0613

Kollin with his new toy. He may not look that excited, oh but he was.

DSC_0006

I did not take a beautiful picture holding my new camera, instead I’ll show you the first picture I took. Isn’t the quality awesome?! The subject is pretty great too.
DSC_0016

We headed to my parents where my three sweet nieces pranced around the house in their gold dresses and we chased after Benjamin. Dinner was delicious and present time was a wild. I remember before there were any kids when we all just stared at each other , wishing for more excitement, well now we have it. Pure chaos and joy all wrapped up together.

Our family is really growing. There were two more stockings on the floor that you can’t see. Not sure what my mom will do next year with two more babies on the way.
DSC_0033
My parents beautiful tree.
DSC_0037

Benjamin’s lovely cousins. 
DSC_0029
 Truly, the girls were prancing around like fairies.

DSC_0134

Merry Christmas!

One thought on “Best Christmas Morning Ever

Leave a Reply

