Challenge accepted…

My whole life I have planned to wait to find out the sex of my babies. Even as a kid I always knew I wanted to be surprised. It’s like waiting until Christmas morning to find out what is under the Christmas tree. I’m not saying peeking at your presents isn’t exciting, because I myself was guilty of peeking at my gifts in my parent’s closet. But finding out if we are having a boy or girl the moment you get to meet that person is so thrilling. We waited to find out when Benjamin was born and when Kollin said “it’s a boy”, the emotional rush was crazy. So of course I knew I wanted to do the same thing with our next baby. I was convinced being surprised was the only way to go.

But…..(of course there’s a but) the funny thing about surprises is that you can’t plan them. Back in October we got a surprise we did not plan on. We like to say we are unexpectedly expecting. When you have a nine month old, you are not exactly thinking about the next baby. But now that the baby is here (well kind of here) we wouldn’t have planned it any other way.

I feel like we got our surprise. So now (as least for this baby) I don’t feel the need for anymore surprises. I feel the need to know. In June we will have an 18 month old and a newborn….WHOA! I would like to feel somewhat prepared. However Kollin still wants the thrill of the surprise. We came to an agreement that I can find out, but I can’t tell Kollin….or anyone else, not my mom, my sister, or the nosy grocery store checker. I wan’t sure if I could keep a secret like that for 20 weeks. But I love the idea of having a little secret and being the only one who knows. I am the only one who carries this little one, so the idea of sharing that between me and the baby sounds lovely.

In the words of Barney Stinson…”Challenge accepted”….after January 22nd I will know if we are having a boy or a girl. Not another soul will know (well except God and the ultra sound technician). It will still be a surprise to Kollin, our family and friends, and you, my 10 followers.

Stay tuned to find out if I can avoid spilling the beans.

6 thoughts on “Challenge accepted…

  1. So I am curious to know how you are going to plan an yet keep this a secret from everyone…if it’s a girl will you go buy dresses and hide them? Or go buy some dresses if its a boy or a girl just to keep Kollin guessing? I think surprises are fun, but whether you find out now or later it will be a surprise when you find out. ๐Ÿ™‚ good luck!

  2. Good question…that is a concern of Kollin’s. I do a lot of online bargain shopping for Benjamin, so if it is a girl I may secretly slip in some girly items in the purchase. Luckily I always get home from work before Kollin, I just need to find a good place to hide it.

  3. Yeah! I love your writing and your pictures (of course your subjects too) and hearing about your Christmas morning, very special Em.
    xoxo
    Cousin Wendy

  4. did your 10 followers include me? because i read your blog too. ha! ๐Ÿ™‚ excited to hear more about wee child #2 for you and kollin. boy or girl, he/she will be a welcomed and loved addition. speaking of love, maybe you should just make the baby’s first outfit out of those paper hearts you posted about in your last entry. talk about creative!

Leave a Reply

