…and 29 I shall forever stay

Ground Hog Day…Saturday…was also my 29th birthday. Not sure how I feel about it. I have 360 days left in my twenties and it’s all over. This decade of my life went way too fast. It makes me think my thirties will go by even faster. Anyway, enough whining, I’ll put the violin away. I still had a really good birthday, my family is good to me.

Kollin went out and got Pao’s Doughnuts. It’s the 3rd best doughnut next to House of Donuts in Lakewood and Lafeen’s in Bellingham.

DSC_0106

I ran out to Goodwill with $20 in my pocket to do the Young House Love Macklemore Challenge, see future post (it will make more sense soon). My sister and I escaped to a movie during nap time. Silver Linings Playbook…good movie, but not exactly a perky birthday movie.

DSC_0107

We went to my sister’s house to celebrate my birthday. Family birthdays consist of good food, tired adults, little girls running around, and the most delicious cake in the world.

Benjamin decided he would try fettucini, salad and olives for the first time. Of course, he liked it best when eaten off of my plate. He liked it so much he decided to save some for later.

DSC_0125

A princess and a tiny fairy helped me open my gifts. How many people have princesses and fairies at their birthday? Okay, maybe 7 year old girls.

DSC_0139

And to save best for last…the cake. I have to say Kollin upstaged me for cake ideas, but I don’t care, it was so awesome. As cool as it was, it was also a bit embarrassing. If you have read prior posts you may know about my borderline obsession with Young House Love. It’s not an obsession per say, they have just become a great resource to home ownership and parenthood. Anyway, back to the cake….Kollin had their book made into a cake with some slight changes. He had help from our favorite cake maker, Stephanie, at Corina Bakery. Not sure how I am going to top this next year.

DSC_0120

Comparing the book and the cake side by side….their’s is more interesting, but mine was much tastier.

DSC_0015

DSC_0119

p.s. That is a picture of me in my “I was Born on Groundhog Day” shirt. I wear it proud!

One thought on “…and 29 I shall forever stay

  1. So fun to read about and see pictures of your birthday party Em, sounds super fun! I am going to have to check out that book you are talking about.

Leave a Reply

