Grateful

A year ago today was a very big day for me. A year ago today, I found out I was pregnant with Gilbert. Benjamin was 9 months old at the time. The first thought I had when the nurse whispered, “it’s positive,” to my midwife was, how in the world will I get both of them in the car when I’m alone?  The idea of having two babies under two was scary. I will admit it is really hard having two under two, but I can’t imagine life without Gilbert.

Last year I stated that I didn’t want to do anything new for the next year since life had had so many changes. I think God laughed when I spoke those words. Gilbert was a reminder to us that we don’t call the shots in life, even though we think we do. He has a different plan for each of us. Gilbert was supposed to be a part of our family, whether or not we planned it.

DSC_0037

Gilbert was also a reminder that God’s gifts come unexpectedly. He has been a blessing to each of us. His calm, sweet, spirit gives us so much joy. We thought it was fitting we chose Gilbert for his name. Gilbert means “bright promise.” When we got to the hospital there was a full rainbow outside our window, a symbol of God’s promise. Gilbert is our bright promise, our gift from God.

DSC_0013

I have nothing profound to say, other than, I am humbled and grateful that I get to be Gilbert’s mom.

DSC_0703

Leave a Reply

