Maternity Photo Shoot Round 2: weathering the elements

On Wednesday I posted pictures of a maternity shoot I did for my friends Shelley and Brett. I mentioned we would do a second round today if it did not pour down rain on us. Luckily it didn’t….it was just freezing cold and veeerrrryy windy. But it was one of the few opportunities we had and I’m so glad we did, because I’m pretty sure the wind blew all the leaves off the trees today.

We did the shoot in Wright’s Park, the most beautiful park in Tacoma. They were such sports since it was so cold. But, I think it was worth it since the scenery was gorgeous. Here is a sampling of some of the photos from today. p.s. My sampling has grown to 11, I couldn’t narrow it down.

DSC_1237

DSC_1241

DSC_1255

DSC_1245

DSC_1298

Note: the reason they are under the “women” sign is because they are having a girl and Brett will now be out numbered by women. I can empathize, being surrounded by boys.

DSC_1275

DSC_1288

DSC_1312

DSC_1319

DSC_1338

DSC_1409

Things I learned this time around:

1.) I know now why I say “sorry.” If a picture doesn’t look good, I apologize, which is silly since they can’t see it.

2.) Giving direction is helpful, but it’s hard to remember.

3.) Last time I said I wanted to shoot in manual focus, but now I know that’s too hard, and things don’t turn out the way you think you see it. Back to auto-focus for me.

4.) I really want a new lens. Me Ra Koh suggests getting a 50mm lens with a 1.8 aperture to get that buttery blur in the background. Unfortunately it’s $200 and I am not working this year. Responsibility stinks.

I get to shoot two different friends of mine and their families. I’m looking forward to it! I will keep you updated as I continue to practice and learn.

Leave a Reply

